Blog
11 min read Comparisons & Alternatives

The 12 Best AI Visibility Tracking Tools in 2026, Compared

On this page
  1. What actually separates these tools?
  2. What kind of tool are you actually buying?
  3. What do the twelve cost?
  4. Why do the prices not compare cleanly?
  5. Which one fits which situation?
  6. What does none of them do?
  7. How should you choose?
The short version

Twelve tools now track brand visibility in AI answers, and they differ on three axes that decide fit: how many engines they query, how often they requery, and whether they explain absence or only report it.

Entry prices run from $29 to $399 a month. Only two of the twelve publish a permanent free plan, and only three publish how many times they re-run a prompt, which is the number that decides whether their figures mean anything.

We sell one of these twelve, so read this with the scepticism that deserves. What we can do is make it checkable: every figure below was read from the vendor’s own pricing page on 9 August 2026, each one is linked, and where a vendor does not publish something this page says so rather than guessing.

How this was assembled. Pricing pages were loaded and read on 9 August 2026. No figure here comes from a press release, a listicle, or memory. This category reprices constantly, so confirm before you buy anything, including ours.

What actually separates these tools?

Feature lists in this category are close to identical and close to useless. Three things genuinely differ, and each one changes what the numbers mean.

The three axes that decide fit
Engine coverage

How many answer surfaces get queried, and whether the ones you care about are in the tier you can afford.

Entry tiers here range from one engine to nine.
Requery frequency

How many times the same prompt runs per engine per day. Answers vary between identical runs, so this decides whether a figure is a rate or a coin flip.

Only three of twelve publish it.
Presence or absence

Whether the product tells you that you were missing, or why. The first is a dashboard, the second is a work queue.

Most of this category does the first.
The second axis is the one nobody markets on. A tool sampling once a day and a tool sampling five times report different numbers from identical reality, and only one of them is measuring.

What kind of tool are you actually buying?

The twelve are not twelve versions of one product. They fall into three shapes, and the shape matters more than any feature, because it determines what the tool is optimised to be good at.

Three shapes in one category
Purpose-built trackers

Measurement is the whole product. Rivarise, Otterly, Mentions.so, Peec AI, Profound, Trakkr, Knowatoa, Rankscale. Deepest coverage per dollar and nothing else in the box.

Eight of twelve
Optimisation platforms

Measurement plus content actions and attribution. Goodie, AthenaHQ, Scrunch. More expensive at entry, and they expect to be a programme rather than a dashboard.

Three of twelve
Suite add-ons

AI visibility sold alongside an SEO platform. Ahrefs Brand Radar, and Semrush sells one too. Both are separately priced add-ons rather than free extras, and Brand Radar in particular is shaped around an index of observed prompts rather than a prompt set you choose.

One in this list
Buying across shapes is the most common evaluation mistake. Comparing an add-on’s price to a purpose-built tracker’s is comparing two different products that happen to share a category page.

What do the twelve cost?

Entry tier, because that is the one most teams actually buy. Every figure links to the page it came from.

ToolEntry priceEngines at entryPrompts at entryFree plan
Otterly.AI$29/mo4 core15No permanent free plan
Mentions.so$49/mo3 LLMs25No permanent free plan
Knowatoa$59/moChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI ModeNot publishedFree trial, no permanent free plan
Rivarise$69/mo450 per dayYes, permanent, no card
Rankscale$99/moYour choice, credit-metered1,200 credits7-day free trial on Pro
Profound$99/mo billed yearlyChatGPT only50No public free plan
Trakkr$100/moAll 8, included50 per brand14-day free trial
Scrunch AI$250/mo CoreNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNo public free plan
AthenaHQ$295/mo Starter9 models3,600 creditsYes, Essential tier with $25 of credit and 300 credits
Ahrefs Brand Radar$398/mo Select PlatformsAI Overviews and AI Mode, ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini, Perplexity, GrokAn index of observed prompts rather than your own setFirehose brand-mention tool free; Brand Radar itself is not free
Goodie AI$399/mo Explorer3 core100 prompts, 3,000 responses7-day free trial
Peec AINot publishedSix named modelsCredit-meteredNo permanent free plan listed

Sorted by entry price, with vendors that publish no price listed last. “Not published” means the vendor’s own page does not state it, which is a finding rather than an omission on our part.

Two of twelve Publish a permanent free plan

Rivarise and AthenaHQ. Everything else is a trial or a demo, which means you evaluate against a countdown rather than against your own data.

Three of twelve Publish a requery frequency

Rivarise, AthenaHQ and Goodie state runs or response budgets. Everywhere else, “daily tracking” could mean one run or fifty, and the difference decides whether the number is real.

Both of these are questions you can ask on a sales call. The answers are more diagnostic than any feature comparison.

Why do the prices not compare cleanly?

Because three different meters are in use, and a headline price tells you almost nothing about what you will actually spend.

Prompt-metered You buy a number of tracked prompts

Most of this list. Easy to compare across vendors and easy to size, as long as you also know how many times each prompt is re-run. Without that second number, “50 prompts” is not a quantity of anything.

Credit-metered You buy a budget of AI responses

Rankscale and AthenaHQ. More honest about the underlying cost and considerably harder to compare, because your monthly spend depends on choices you make after you sign.

Credit pricing is not a trick, it is a transfer of the sizing problem to you. AthenaHQ states it plainly: one credit is one AI response, which is the clearest unit anyone in this list publishes.

A third meter hides inside the first. Several vendors sell the engines separately from the prompts, so the tier price covers three or four models and the rest arrive as add-ons. Otterly bills engines beyond its core four separately, and Peec meters models as a multiplier rather than bundling them, though it has stopped publishing what any of it costs. Neither is hidden, and both mean the number in the pricing table is a floor rather than a price.

A tool that meters models as a multiplier is not quoting you a price, it is quoting you a starting point. Peec documents one prompt against one model for a month at 30 credits, so six models costs exactly twice what three does, and Otterly bills its extra engines on top of every tier. It is the same purchase with the arithmetic left to you.

Which one fits which situation?

In entry-price order. Each entry states where the tool is weaker, including ours, because a comparison where one product wins every row is a sales page wearing a comparison’s clothes.

1
Otterly.AI $29/mo at entry

The cheapest way to start tracking anything at all.

Where it is weaker
Engine add-ons and extra prompt packs mean the sticker price is rarely the real one.
Requery frequency
Daily tracking stated, runs per day not published
Top self-serve tier
$489/mo for 400 prompts, engines beyond the core four billed as add-ons
Figures from Otterly.AI, checked 9 August 2026.
2
Mentions.so $49/mo at entry

Agencies wanting many sites on one bill, with unlimited seats at every tier.

Where it is weaker
Prompt allowances are low at the bottom two tiers relative to the price.
Requery frequency
Not published
Top self-serve tier
$399/mo Agency, 300 prompts, unlimited sites
Figures from Mentions.so, checked 9 August 2026.
3
Knowatoa $59/mo at entry

Reporting-stack teams: the API, MCP and Looker Studio integrations arrive at $199 rather than at enterprise.

Where it is weaker
Question allowances are not on the pricing page, so you cannot size it before talking to them.
Requery frequency
Daily updates stated, runs per day not published
Top self-serve tier
$199/mo Growth, all 7 services, plus API, MCP and Looker Studio
Figures from Knowatoa, checked 9 August 2026.
4
Rivarise $69/mo at entry

Teams that want all nine engines on one plan without add-ons, and the full answer text behind every number.

Where it is weaker
No longer the cheapest way in, and it does not do content generation or optimisation actions.
Requery frequency
5 runs per prompt per engine per day, published
Top self-serve tier
$349/mo Business for all 9 engines and 80 prompts a day; $1,299 Agency for 5 client brands
Figures from Rivarise, checked 12 August 2026.
5
Peec AI Price not published

European teams wanting country-level segmentation and unlimited users on every tier.

Where it is weaker
No tier carries a public price as of 30 August 2026, so you cannot size or compare it without a sales conversation.
Requery frequency
Daily tracking stated, and its documentation puts 1 prompt against 1 model for 1 day at 1 credit
Top self-serve tier
Advanced, up to 5 projects. No price published on any public page
Figures from Peec AI, rechecked 30 August 2026.
6
Rankscale $99/mo at entry

Teams that would rather buy a budget than a plan, and audit pages as well as track prompts.

Where it is weaker
Credit maths makes cross-vendor comparison genuinely hard, which may or may not be deliberate.
Requery frequency
Credit-metered rather than fixed; you decide the run count
Top self-serve tier
$780/mo Enterprise, 12,000 credits
Figures from Rankscale, checked 9 August 2026.
7
Profound $99/mo billed yearly at entry

Enterprises that need SSO, SOC 2 and multi-company tracking, and the best-known name in the category.

Where it is weaker
The entry tier is one engine. Meaningful coverage starts at $399 with three.
Requery frequency
Not published
Top self-serve tier
Enterprise, custom, up to 9 answer engines and SSO/SAML with SOC 2
Figures from Profound, checked 9 August 2026.
8
Trakkr $100/mo at entry

Anyone tired of per-model add-on pricing. Every model is in every tier.

Where it is weaker
One brand at the entry tier, so multi-brand work moves you up quickly.
Requery frequency
Daily per brand, runs per day not published
Top self-serve tier
Agency tiers above, with client portals and brand comparison
Figures from Trakkr, checked 9 August 2026.
9
Scrunch AI $250/mo Core at entry

Brands that want an agent-facing view of their own site alongside visibility tracking.

Where it is weaker
The public pricing page states a price and very little else, so evaluation needs a call.
Requery frequency
Not published
Top self-serve tier
Enterprise, custom
Figures from Scrunch AI, checked 9 August 2026.
10
AthenaHQ $295/mo Starter at entry

Teams who want a free tier to evaluate with and full model coverage the moment they pay.

Where it is weaker
The jump from free to $295 is the steepest on this list.
Requery frequency
Credit-metered, 1 credit = 1 AI response
Top self-serve tier
Enterprise, custom, adds SAML and OIDC SSO, audit log and multi-region
Figures from AthenaHQ, checked 9 August 2026.
11
Ahrefs Brand Radar $398/mo Select Platforms at entry

Category research. The prompt index answers what people are actually asking, which no prompt set of yours can.

Where it is weaker
A separate add-on on top of your Ahrefs subscription, and the top tier is the one with custom prompt checks.
Requery frequency
Reports on an index of observed prompts, so a per-prompt run count does not apply in the same way
Top self-serve tier
$699/mo All Platforms, including 2,500 custom prompt checks a month
Figures from Ahrefs Brand Radar, checked 9 August 2026.
12
Goodie AI $399/mo Explorer at entry

Teams buying optimisation actions and revenue attribution, not only measurement.

Where it is weaker
Two of the three tiers are demo-only, so you cannot self-serve past the entry plan.
Requery frequency
3,000 AI responses a month at entry, which is a published run budget
Top self-serve tier
Enterprise, quote only, up to 11 models and 500+ prompts
Figures from Goodie AI, checked 9 August 2026.

What does none of them do?

Three limits that are not vendor failures
Close the attribution gap

An answer that names you and sends no click is invisible in analytics. Every vendor claiming otherwise is inferring.

Guarantee a placement

There is nothing to submit and nothing to buy. Tools measure the odds, they do not set them.

Fix the thing they find

The heaviest lifting is third-party evidence on domains you do not own. No dashboard does that work for you.

Judge the category on measurement quality, not on promises about outcomes. The outcome is bought with work, not with a subscription.

How should you choose?

Four questions, in order
1
Which engines do your buyers actually use?Buy coverage of those, not of the longest list. A tool missing the one engine your market lives in is measuring somebody else’s market.
2
How many runs per prompt per day?Ask directly. If the answer is one, or the vendor will not say, you are buying a spot check.
3
Do you get the full answer text?Aggregates can be recomputed from stored text. Discarded text cannot be recovered, and it is what answers the questions you have not thought of yet.
4
Can you see inside the score?A composite you cannot decompose is a number you cannot act on. Ask for the components before you ask for a discount.
Every one of these is fair to ask of us too. Our own answers are five runs per prompt per engine per day, full answer text kept for the plan’s history window, and the score components published.

One last piece of advice that costs nothing. Whatever you buy, write your prompt set down before you see any vendor’s dashboard, and do not change it for a quarter. The tool matters less than holding the prompt set and the run count constant, and a fixed set on a cheap plan produces a more defensible baseline than a drifting set on an expensive one.